Aeronwy Thomas: The shade. Painting by Gianpiero Actis

Painting by Gianpiero Actis
Painting by Gianpiero Actis

THE  SHADE

A chubby man

followed me

to the library

along the streets

of Boston

past Dunkin’ Donuts

and Peets coffee and teas

into the pharmacy

for Vick’s Vaporub

hence

to Harvard Campus

and leafy trees.

 

His shadow

followed me

up the steps

through the doors

of the public halls.

 

The throng already there

greeted the shadow

and not me

with loud applause

in the dusty halls

until he faded from the sight

to his proper shape

a shade

and I stepped forward

flesh and blood

to shout to the wind,

the stars and the rain

to be acclaimed

by the crowd

in my own write

on my own terms

for a while free

of the shame

not be him again

free

of the shadow

that keeps pace with me

that dogs my steps

throughout my life.

AERONWY THOMAS

 

L’OMBRA

Un uomo paffuto

mi seguiva

verso la biblioteca

lungo le strade

di Boston

oltre il locale di Dunkin’ Donuts

e di Peets coffee and teas

fino alla farmacia

una sosta per il Vick’s Vaporub

e di qui

al campus di Harvard

e ai suoi frondosi alberi.

 

La sua ombra

mi seguiva

sugli scalini

attraverso le porte

delle grandi sale pubbliche.

 

La folla era già là

salutò l’ombra

e non me

con un forte applauso

nelle sale polverose

finché lui svanì dalla vista

e tornò alla sua propria forma

un’ombra

e io entrai

in carne e ossa

a gridare al vento

alle stelle e alla pioggia

per essere acclamata

dalla folla

per il mio scritto

per le mie parole

libera per un momento

dell’onta

di non essere ancora lui

libera

dall’ombra

che muove il suo passo con me

che segue le mie orme

per tutta la mia vita.

Translated by Lidia Chiarelli

 

 

Leave a Reply

