WITHOUT WINGS, painting by ROMANA YAROSHCHAK, KIEV, UKRAINE

WITHOUT WINGS, painting by ROMANA YAROSHCHAK, Kiev, Ukraine (copyright of the artist)

WITHOUT WINGS, painting by ROMANA YAROSHCHAK, Kiev, Ukraine (copyright of the artist)

 

LINK:  http://romizm.com/

ROAD   TO  HEAVEN

 

The signpost reads “HEAVEN”

I get distracted – food, flowers

Wine, women and song

You know…

Take the road running parallel

Pedal along happily,

With a glass in

One hand, neatly balancing

A lady hiker on the handlebar

Rather a feat I think

Until a pothole appears

And all goes flying

The lady into a bush

While quickly I finish my drink

Before turning a somersault

My bike in a tow like

A circus performer.

The lady claps from her

Ringside seat

And I land safe the other side

Buckling a fender

But through the green

On the verge I’ve seen

The road I should be on

And leaving the tempting

Roadside café, the siren song

Of the birds and the lady in the bush

The pretty celandines underfoot

(I hadn’t noticed them before)

I pedal even faster

Ignoring it all

Take a at dizzying speed

The next turning to Heaven

And once on the right road

Keep on pedalling.

 

 

AERONWY   THOMAS

Leave a Reply

