LA PUERTA DE LOS DOS REINOS, Painting by RAYMUNDO GARZA LOZANO, Monterrey, Mexico

LA PUERTA DE LOS DOS REINOS, painting by Raymundo Garza Lozano, Mexico (copyright of the artist)

LA PUERTA DE LOS DOS REINOS, painting by Raymundo Garza Lozano, Mexico (copyright of the artist)

LINK: raymundogarza.blogspot.com

THE DOOR

 

I can see the door

the other side of the room

it is not the one

I entered from

but it is the door

I have to leave by

it is made  from oak

and as I walk

towards it

I note there’s

a brass handle

to pull down

in order to leave

the room with

two doors

and many windows

with views

of garden

and hills beyond

walkers like ants

dot the landscape

I can see all this

as I approach

very slowly

the door marked exit

in letters

of polished brass

I hadn’t noticed before

where I bend

ready to peer

through the keyhole

 

in every window

 faces

appear

unfriendly

 warning

not to look

through the door

so I stand

hesitant

until they disappear

and the walkers

are there once more

I see them

through the windows

and want to join them

so  pull down

the handle

and the heavy door

swings back

 

I step through

in the hope

that the garden

and the hills

glimpsed through

the glass

will still be there

the other side

of the door

 

AERONWY   THOMAS

Leave a Reply

