RADIO DAYS, painting by RANDI ANTONSEN, Norway. RADIO, poem by AERONWY THOMAS, UK

(copyright of the artist)

LINK: http://www.artbreak.com/Claravox

RADIO

Radio cased in red leather

Heavy, substantial

The knobs in chrome

Clear, visible

Easy to handle.

I tried clicking, coaxing

Noting

Listening

Until programmes

And radio waves

Were familiar.

I kept it by my bed

Hidden in bedclothes

When my friends

Visited to chat

Lonely for home

And parents

And when they left

I knew the radio

Would keep me company

And drown the sounds

Of tears.

                                        AERONWY   THOMAS 

 

Leave a Reply

