“Autumn” painting by MARINA23, EIRE. “Falling Leaves” poem by AERONWY THOMAS, UK

(copyright of the artist)



Link: http://www.artbreak.com/marina23

FALLING LEAVES

The leaf speaks:
I am changing colour
It feels strange
I was vibrant green
Now my tips are orange
Brown and yellow

The tree speaks:
I am feeling unwell
My leaves behave
Strangely
My green roof
And walls gone
People liked
To shelter from the sun
And rain
The children
The squirrels
The picnic parties
A tablecloth
Spread under
My lively branches
Shady and
Intimate.
I can see and hear
The children nearby
Waiting for the conkers.

The leaf speaks:
I am falling
Falling
Whirling
Gusts of wind
Strip the tree
In playful tornadoes
Until it subsides.
I join the others
Spread out
Under the tree
Burgundy leaves
Are whipped up by the wind
For a last dance.

The tree speaks:
I feel naked to the elements
Without my leaves
And think of the mists and rain
And cold
As Winter approaches.
Never mind
I look splendid
With my limbs
On show
And know my buds
Are lying dormant,
Protected by
Their sticky sheafs
Ready to burst forth
At Spring
To clothe me
Once again
In King’s cloak
Of green.

AERONWY THOMAS

CADONO LE FOGLIE

La foglia parla :
Sto cambiando colore
È strano
Ero verde vibrante
Ora le mie punte sono arancioni
Marroni e gialle

L’albero parla:
Non mi sento bene
Le mie foglie si comportano
Stranamente
Il mio tetto
E le mie pareti verdi se ne sono andati
Le persone amavano
Ripararsi dal sole
E dalla pioggia
I bambini
Gli scoiattoli
Le feste con i picnic
Una tovaglia
Stesa sotto
I miei rami vivaci
Ombrosi e
Intimi.
Posso vedere e udire
I bambini vicini
Che aspettano le castagne d’India.

La foglia parla:
Sto cadendo
Cadendo
Volteggiando
Raffiche di vento
spogliano l’albero
In tornadi giocosi
Finché il vento si calma.
Mi unisco alle altre
Sparse
Sotto l’albero
Foglie dal color rosso scuro
Sono spazzate dal vento
Per un’ultima danza.

L’albero parla:
Mi sento nudo di fronte agli elementi
Senza le mie foglie
E penso alle nebbie e alla pioggia
E al freddo
Mentre l’inverno si avvicina.
Non importa
Sembro splendido
Con le mie membra
In vista
E so che le mie gemme
Ora stanno dormendo
Protette dai
Loro spessi involucri
Pronte a uscire fuori
A primavera
Per vestirmi
Ancora una volta
Con un verde mantello
Da Re.

Translated by: Lidia Chiarelli

Leave a Reply

