“Dolphin” by Carole Jacobs, Wales, UK. Painting by Tom Higgins, UK

Dolphin

(Painting by Tom Higgins, UK)

 

Dolphin

Slip silver along the length of my back,

see it gleam,

turn to black

as wave-water holds me,

dips me in silk.

Only a stretch of muscle,

arrowed beak,

curving in the night air,

to plunge deep

through the kelp I’ve moved.

There I can show you

the shoal of my dreams,

swirled through the green,

touched with the moonlight

I have trapped in my fins.

 

Carole Jacobs, 2016

Leave a Reply

